The 91st Prix des Deux Magots, October 7, 2024

The 91st Prix des Deux Magots will be awarded on Monday, October 7, 2024. Two new jurors join the award.

The 91st winner will be announced at the award ceremony at the Café des Deux Magots. He will succeed Guy Boley, crowned in 2023 for his novel À ma soeur et unique, published by Grasset.

Chaired by Étienne de Montety, the Prix des Deux Magots is awarded to a French-language book published during the year. The €7,700 prize is awarded to a talented novelist or essayist who has just emerged or who, in the eyes of the jury, is not yet receiving the recognition he or she deserves. However, as the jury’s choice is largely based on its enthusiasm and its personal favorites, it is not forbidden to reward a work that meets other criteria.

The 91st Prix des Deux Magots, October 7, 2024

Two new jurors are joining the Prix des Deux Magots this year:
Jessica Nelson, novelist and co-founder of Editions des Saints Pères
Nicolas Carreau, Europe 1 journalist, columnist and author.

They take over from Isabelle Carré and Éric Deschodt.

“I’m delighted to welcome Jessica and Nicolas to our jury. I know they’ll bring a personal perspective to today’s literature, while maintaining the spirit that characterizes the prize,” says Étienne de Montety.

The twelve-member jury also includes :
Laurence Caracalla, journalist
Jean Chalon, journalist and writer
Jean-Luc Coatalem, journalist and writer
Pauline Dreyfus, writer
Clara Dupont-Monod, publisher and writer
Benoît Duteurtre, radio producer and writer
Pierre Kyria, writer
Marianne Payot, journalist
Abel Quentin, writer

Calendar of selections for the Prix des Deux Magots :
First selection: Monday, September 2, 2024
Second selection: Monday, September 23, 2024
Award ceremony: Monday, October 7, 2024

Created in 1933 as a reaction to the Prix Goncourt, deemed too academic, the Prix des Deux Magots is one of France’s oldest literary awards. In the ninety-one years of its existence, the Prix has rewarded the works of such famous authors as Raymond Queneau for his first novel Le Chiendent, Antoine Blondin, Albert Simonin, Pauline Réage, Elvire de Brissac, Roland Topor, Michel Del Castillo, Geneviève Dormann, Sébastien Japrisot, Christian Bobin, Jean-Luc Coatalem and Jérôme Garçin… True to its vocation as a discoverer, it has distinguished and revealed numerous authors: Marc Dugain, Serge Joncour and, more recently, Pierre Adrian.