Unchained letters!

Created in 1933 as an alternative to the Prix Goncourt, considered too academic, the Prix des Deux Magots was first awarded to a unknown young author... Raymond Queneau for his book Le Chiendent (“The Bark Tree”). Ever since, the Prix des Deux Magots kicks off the literary year in the month of January.
It draws attention to quality writers, presenting a selection of diversified and unconventional writers such as Antoine Blondin, Marc Dugain, Michel Crépu, Jean-Claude Pirotte, Daniel Rondeau, Eve de Castro, Olivier Séchan, Fernand Pouillon and more. 

Other types of artistic expression are also honoured at Les Deux Magots: the Pelléas Prize recognises a music-themed literary work; the Saint Germain Prize, in partnership with the Brasserie Lipp, the Flore café and Sonia Rykiel, has celebrated an artist in various disciplines for many years (architecture, cinema, theatre, art, fashion...).

Discover the winnersDiscover the winners